Get court-approved California divorce papers for filing an uncontested divorce without a lawyer's fees.
In California, online divorce has become one of the most popular marriage dissolution options in recent years. Why?
Yes, a do-it-yourself divorce is not just the easiest way to get a divorce in California, but also the most convenient one. There are just a few simple steps you need to take:
Right after your final steps, we provide you with detailed instructions on how to easily cope with filing for divorce without a lawyer.
ONLINE DIVORCE WITH NO CHILDREN
Get complete divorce packet ready for court in a few clicks. Step-by-step filing instructions are included.
+ Court Fees
ONLINE DIVORCE WITH CHILDREN
Filing for divorce online is a convenient solution for couples who have children.
+ Court Fees
Split your bill into partial payments. Flexible terms & no extra fees.
+ Court Fees
Finding divorce documents in California might be a struggle, especially if you are not 100% sure which ones are used in specific cases. Fortunately, you do not have to surf the Internet looking for blank divorce papers in pdf format as our team has already collected the necessary ones for the most common cases. Therefore, once you make sure you qualify to get a joint dissolution of marriage in California, you can pick the right forms for your situation, download divorce papers for free, print and fill them out, and submit the full package to your local court.
Here is the list of some of the do it yourself divorce papers you might need:
Note that a divorce petition in California can be of a few types. If you and your spouse have been married for less than 5 years, have no children and barely any assets or debts, you might qualify for getting a summary dissolution. In this case, you will be required to file a joint petition for divorce in California along with a few other documents. However, it is crucial that you familiarize yourself with the process before you initiate it to avoid potential difficulties.
Answer Relevant Questions
Download Your Completed Forms
File The Documents
To apply for divorce in California:
Please note that there are specific rules for the service of process in different states. How to serve divorce papers in California? Get a person over 18 to:
Note that you will have to provide your spouse with a few additional papers to sign so that you can later file a confirmation with a court stating that you ex was notified about the marriage dissolution. A person helping you with the service will also have to fill out and submit a proof that they have delivered the paperwork to your spouse.
Additionally, you and your ex will have to exchange financial documents within no more than 2 months after the divorce is commenced. Although none of these will require court submission, it would still be necessary to provide court clerk with a proof that the disclosure of financial information has been completed.
As you can see, filing for divorce in California is an elaborate process, which you, however, will easily navigate with a guide we will send you for free if you decide to get online help with your paperwork. There will be a series of instructions guiding you each step of the way to ensure that you successfully initiate and finish your marriage dissolution.
Filling out divorce papers in California, it is crucial to understand that you live in a community law state. This implies that everything you and your spouse have brought or otherwise acquired during marriage will be seen as your marital assets. Therefore, in California, DIY divorce would require you to consider their division. Of course, there are certain exceptions to this rule, as inheritance, gifts, and some other items will not be considered joint property. If any of you wishes to share them with the other, it would be your choice to make.
Overall, when filling out divorce forms, you will need to indicate:
Getting a divorce in California without a lawyer might feel like a risk. However, thousands of spouses do it every year, either by using online services or going fully DIY and getting no outside help. The main requirement for a do-it-yourself divorce in California is to reach a full agreement on childcare and finance-related issues. If you and your spouse are on the same side when it comes to them, you are free to start a marriage dissolution process.
Before you do, however, it is essential to understand steps to getting a divorce in California and potential pitfalls you might encounter. Although the process is simplified when it is amicable, it might not be as easy as you expected if you deal with the paperwork on your own. Let’s review the California divorce process step by step so that you can see it for yourself:
As it is unlikely that you work with divorce documents on a daily basis, it may take you quite some time to understand what forms suit your case and how to answer questions in them properly. Moreover, when the tiniest mistake might mean that your paperwork will not be accepted by the court and you will have to deal with legal forms all over again, it puts a lot of stress on you to do everything correctly from the first try.
If you are feeling overwhelmed and confused or would simply prefer to delegate the paperwork to professionals, our team is here to help. You only have to complete a quick questionnaire to get a full package of filled out divorce documents chosen specifically to suit your situation. Besides, it will only cost you $139, and you will receive your papers in just a few days along with the free instructions on how to file them with a court.
Most states have quite specific residency requirements and California is not an exception. To file in CA, your or your ex should live in:
If you have recently moved to another county and do not yet meet residency requirements there, you may file in the one you have previously lived.
In the best-case scenario, you will be granted a marriage dissolution 6 months after you inform your spouse that you initiated it. It is the bare minimum in California, and the timeline might increase as it is affected by court schedules and caseload, potential complications in your case, and other factors that are prone to change.
Raymond T. Taylor
Now when I cannot get out of my house I could finally find time to get everything done for my divorce. Took about 40 minutes to pass the interview and received 14 documents needed by the court. Great service.
Doris J. Gailey
I am not one to write reviews normally. But I have to write this one because I am very satisfied with the service I purchased. I had no trouble answering the questions as their questionnaire was fully guided and it took little time to pass it. Great!
Joseph P. Bell
Found these guys when searching for DIY divorce options in California and I wasn’t disappointed once. The website is nice and I found out what I needed very fast. Didn’t expect it to be as good for this price, but the forms were approved.
Yes! As long as you plan on filing for uncontested divorce, you are welcome to represent yourself in court instead of hiring a lawyer to do it. If you and your ex are in full agreement on the way your assets will be distributed, childcare will be arranged, and other aspects of your post-divorce life, there is not much a judge can do but approve your agreement as long as it’s fair.
To file for uncontested divorce in California, take the following steps:
When you have all the paperwork ready, you should find your county’s court clerk’s office on the California Court website and visit it to file your documents there.
These are the forms required for a divorce case:
Note that you might need more/other forms depending on your case and the county where you file.
The cost of the divorce process in California depends on several factors. You will definitely have to pay a filing fee, which is $435, and court fees, which will vary depending on your county. If you hire a lawyer, you may have to pay around $3,000-10,000 for their services. Alternatively, you can order your paperwork online for a significantly lower price.
From start to finish, the California divorce process will take at least 6 months. The more complex your case is, the longer it will take to finalize it. In any situation, a divorce won’t be final until a 6-month mandatory waiting period is over.
There are mandatory residency requirements to file for divorce in California. Either you or your spouse must have lived in: